Interview: Miss New York Finalist

11 Nov

Miss New Yorki

Last Thursday at a far too crowded Starbucks in Manhattan I had the wonderful opportunity to chat with the very motivated and beautiful Miss New York finalist, Jennifer Garcia.

She was kind enough to take some time out of her crazy busy schedule to meet and tell me what she’s all about. By the end of our quick meet and greet she had thoroughly warmed my heart and won me over, let me just say if I was a pageant judge, she would have won already.

From her picture I expected to be meeting with a glammed up city girl but as it turned out she was so much more than formal wear and crowns. She is driven and motivated with big ambitions and high (high) self standards. At the tender age of 18 I can confidently muse this girl is going places.

Name: Jennifer Garcia

Age: 18

Major: Double majoring in  Government and International Law (wow! beautiful and intelligent!)

Interviewer: You seem very acquainted with the city, have you lived in New York your whole lie?

Jennifer: I was born in New York but actually moved back to where my parents are from shortly after and was raised in the Dominican Republic. I moved back here for school and I know live with my grandmother. I really do like it here.

I: What is your favorite thing about New York?

J: I love the movement. People are always moving, doing things, seeing things, everything is always new because nothing ever stays still. The change is exciting. You have to move quickly, literally, or you’ll get lost in the crowd.

I: You must travel a lot, being in pageants and all, what was your favorite place to visit?

J: I have been to a lot of states. But Canada was by far my favorite. So refreshing, so…clean. Very different from the city in practically every respect.

I: What do you like to do in your free time?

J: Free time? There is no such thing in my life as of late. I have school every day during the week, starting early in the morning I catch the train into Manhattan where I attend class all day. I study from 4-8 everyday. So I don’t really have time for friends. I am very dedicated to my schooling at the moment.

I: So I guess fashion is out then, of very little interest at all to you?

J: For the most part. I do love shoes. And there are certain aspects of the competition that require a sense of fashion. It mostly has to do with the way I present myself, I obviously need to look respectable and put together, very professional.

I: Wow. I admire that sort of commitment, so what exactly do you want to do with your degree?

J: I am going to go to law school to become a lawyer.

I: So Miss America wants to be lawyer. Planning to solve world hunger as well I suppose. Just kidding. No but really why do you compete? What does a law student want with pageants?

J: There’s a lot I can do with that image. It’s a respected accomplishment that can open many doors. In essence it is a tool to other accomplishments. Winning Miss New York validates me in so many ways.

I: What would you do if you won?

J: Education has always been very important to me. Here in New York it is very expensive to get a good education. There are so many schools in unsafe areas that they really don’t facilitate a good education. I want to help kids on the street who don’t have the opportunity to go to a good school,  I want to make it easier for kids who want to go to college to be able to go. I really would love to be able to give back. My schooling and education has been so beneficial, I want to pass that on.

As you can see this girl is wise beyond her years and certainly a delight to converse with. I wish her the best of luck and Celebrity Pink will continue to sponsor her through her endeavours.

XoXo cpFashionista

Leave a Reply

