Lesson Learned

9 Jun
Not so much...

Not so much...

What I have come to realize is that there is a  recognizable differentiation between quality vintage and…well, just plain old stuff! As I wandered through American Ragon Saturday afternoon, eyes wide with lust and mouth agape in awe I can honestly say I fell in love. I touched and felt and looked in amazement at the most wonderful collection of vintage finds I had ever seen. From the Marc Jacobs bags and James Perse dresses to the totally 80s sunglasses collection I could not get enough of this expansive haven. And don’t even get me started on their Denim Bar…can you say OBSESSED!

Needless to say, after a latte from their adddorable cafe  I was sufficiently starry eyed and ready to embark on a full out vintage shopping experience…that is until we stumbled into the next “vintage store” we came to. Let me just say, not all consignment stores are created equal…and Golyester Vintage was frightening to say the least. Aside from the circa 1800 feel and matching aroma, walking into what I am sure was the original  “used clothing” concept store felt something like walking into a budget horror film…to say the least. I will confess we proceeded to explore the ENTIRETY of this bad movie, simply for amusement sake and left only when I felt certain we had disrupted a sufficient number of resting souls.

Moral of the story, never assume one is like the other. Somethings belong in the past. Just like parachute pants and splatter paint tee’s should remain a horrifying remembrance of the 90s, unless its couture and in wearable condition…anything worn before WW1 is probably best viewed in a museum.

XoXo cpFashionista

Leave a Reply

